DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE

The dirty parts of the bible by sam torode

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE WAS A FUN READ ABOUT TOBIAS – A YOUNG MAN, THE SON OF A BAPTIST PREACHER WHO HAS BEEN BLINDED IN A STRANGE ACCIDENT.  TOBIAS MUST TRAVEL FROM MICHIGAN TO TEXAS ON WHAT IS LEFT OF HIS FAMILY’S MONEY IN SEARCH OF HIS FATHER’S BURIED TREASURE.  TRAVELING VIA TRAIN, AT ONE OF HIS FIRST STOPS HE JUST WANTS TO FIND A HOTEL ROOM AND SLEEP BUT THE BLOKE WHO GIVES HIM DIRECTIONS SENDS HIM TO A WHORE HOUSE.  THE WHORE PROMPTLY STEALS ALL HIS MONEY LEAVING TOBIAS STRANDED.  TOBIAS BEFRIENDS A HOBO AND TOGETHER THEY DEVISE A PLAN TO GET TO TEXAS.  BUT TOBIAS FINDS MUCH MORE THAN THE BURIED TREASURE IN TEXAS.  IT IS A FUN READ – ENJOY!

 PUBLISHER’S  NOTES:

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:

“While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)

The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” Front Street Reviews

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views

“A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Rate this book using the stars below:

 

Advertisements

DEATH IN THE BEGINNING

DEATH IN THE BEGINNING

THIS BOOK DID REMIND BE A BIT OF DAN BROWN’S BOOKS “THE DA VINCI CODE” AND “THE LOST SYMBOL”.  THERE ARE REFERENCES GOING BACK TO BIBLICAL TIMES THROUGHOUT THE BOOK.  ARCHEOLOGIST CURT LOHAN IS LEARNING THE SIGNIFICANCE OF HIS LATEST CAVE FINDINGS IN THE CANARY ISLANDS AND AT HOME, IN ST. AUGUSTINE FLORIDA.  THE FISH SYMBOL IS PARAMOUNT TO UNDERSTANDING THE REAL TRUTH BEHIND HIS FINDS.

 

PRAISE:
“This novel is an excellent read. Mixing scientific fact with religious history and the supernatural, it moves readers relentlessly through a suspenseful tapestry of action. Its images are vivid, the characters lively, and their control of the story line makes for a real page turner. I’m anxious to see their next book.”
– Lloyd H. Muller, author of Family Tales and Letters and Old Ghosts.“Science, spirituality and the supernatural collide in this break-out debut thriller, with an action-packed storyline so tightly woven, you won’t be able to catch your breath until the very end. It’s a delicious, twisting journey unlike any I have read.”
– CK Webb, co-author of “Cruelty To Innocents” & “Collecting Innocents”
DESCRIPTION:
It has been an extraordinary summer for archaeologist Curt Lohan. First, he discovers a manmade cave in the Canary Islands off the African coast. The austere walls hold artwork which dates to the dawn of mankind. Then, while exploring a newly found gunpowder magazine inside a 300-year-old Spanish fort in St. Augustine, Florida, a man emerges. When Curt uncovers a link between the Canary Island cave and the unidentified man, he realizes that he has stumbled upon a secret lost in history. But the revelation holds terrifying consequences, and there are those willing to murder to guard the truth. As Northeast Florida braces for a deadly hurricane, Curt and his friends are drawn into a monumental conspiracy which could forever alter the world…and destroy humanity.
Rate this book using the stars below: