DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE

The dirty parts of the bible by sam torode

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE WAS A FUN READ ABOUT TOBIAS – A YOUNG MAN, THE SON OF A BAPTIST PREACHER WHO HAS BEEN BLINDED IN A STRANGE ACCIDENT.  TOBIAS MUST TRAVEL FROM MICHIGAN TO TEXAS ON WHAT IS LEFT OF HIS FAMILY’S MONEY IN SEARCH OF HIS FATHER’S BURIED TREASURE.  TRAVELING VIA TRAIN, AT ONE OF HIS FIRST STOPS HE JUST WANTS TO FIND A HOTEL ROOM AND SLEEP BUT THE BLOKE WHO GIVES HIM DIRECTIONS SENDS HIM TO A WHORE HOUSE.  THE WHORE PROMPTLY STEALS ALL HIS MONEY LEAVING TOBIAS STRANDED.  TOBIAS BEFRIENDS A HOBO AND TOGETHER THEY DEVISE A PLAN TO GET TO TEXAS.  BUT TOBIAS FINDS MUCH MORE THAN THE BURIED TREASURE IN TEXAS.  IT IS A FUN READ – ENJOY!

 PUBLISHER’S  NOTES:

“Funny as Hell, with a Heart as Big as Texas”The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel AwardPublishers Weekly says:

“While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)

The Dirty Parts of the Bible has it all … a plot that brings lots of laughs and a few tears, a writing style that is comfortable and matches the story, and characters that are pure joy.” Front Street Reviews

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a grown-up Mark Twain-type adventure with lots of spirit and humor.” –Reader Views

“A fun read.” –The Nashville Scene

Rate this book using the stars below:

 

Advertisements

One thought on “DIRTY PARTS OF THE BIBLE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s